/ / How to delete a friend request on linkedin

How to delete a friend request on linkedin?

0

Well hellooooo you trigger finger! Wouldn’t you like to know how to undo your action and withdraw LinkedIn invitations? See, this is what happened. I went for a walk in the freezing cold, as the sun was out and I had been sitting still too long. Then I bumped into a person I know. Yup. True story! After we ran through the compulsory script of bumping into people she asked me a question:

HOW DO I WITHDRAW LINKEDIN INVITATIONS?

See, they accidentally clicked that option where LinkedIn automatically invites your whole address book. Oopsies. Well, even I’ve done that! Yup, demonstrating how that feature does have its uses if used correctly and forgetting to untick the box I needed to untick to demonstrate. UGH.

2 OPTIONS TO WITHDRAW LINKEDIN INVITATIONS!

If you invited just one person (or a few) by “mis-clicking” there is an easy fix. You can withdraw LinkedIn invitations as long as they have not yet been accepted.

  1. Click on “My network” in the menu bar.
  2. Click “Manage all”.
  3. Click “Sent”.
  4. Click “Withdraw”.

That’s it! Invite gone. There is no warning, no are you sure, no confirm your actions. Hey, if you were so quick to click in the first place that you accidentally sent out the invite, then why slow down now!

If you clicked so LinkedIn invited your whole address book, the above method may not work. In that case, click the drop-down arrow next to “Me” underneath your pretty little (tiny really) face top right in the menu bar. Go to help and politely ask (or desperately beg if that is more your style) for them to remove all outstanding invitations. WARNING this will also remove any invitation you sent out on purpose.

BEFORE YOU USE METHOD 2

Follow the first 3 steps in method one. See any invites that you deliberately sent out? Write down their names. The will be GONE if you use method 2. By writing down the names you can manually invite them again.

>>>What is your biggest LinkedIn OOOOOPS moment? ← Mark my words: Connect Twitter to LinkedIn. Who cares who viewed your profile? →

2 Comments

It’s a totally deceptive trick by Linkedin to invite everyone in your address book. I am totally not using LinkedIn any more. This mass invite to everyone in my address book caused me so much stress and confusion from people I have hardly had any contact with. Bye bye LinkedIn…

I quite like the feature to let LinkedIn search my address book. When I do, I immediately tick the box to deselect all the results. If I see people I would like to invite, I write them down to later manually invite.

LinkedIn never invites people in your address book without you giving it permission to do so, but it is easy to overlook the option to untick all before accidentally clicking next.

Comments: